Avoiding newbe mistakes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Avoiding newbe mistakes

I just bought a 1885 Mako 238 cuddy with a '96 200hp Mercury outboard. We're doing some black fishing on Long Island Sound off of New Haven, CT. I have been a sailor for 20 years, so i know the waters and boating in general, but I'm new to this boat and new to outboard motor boating on saltwater.

Any suggested actions or reading for me, or just plain - '...hey don't make this mistake: ..."

Thank you!

Welcome to Classicmako! Just remember "slow like a pro" wins over every time, or "when in doubt, through the anchor out". [8D]

1) make sure the plug is in at all times.

2) Make sure there is enough beer on board for all persons.

3) in regards to #2, make sure you have plenty of ice

4) Don't be afraid to ask any questions here. I guarantee they have been asked before

5) have fun!

Do you trailer or wet slip? The in-floor livewell will probably be the biggest thing to figure out, and not telling how it's plumbed, but basically you regulate the amount of water in vs. the amount of water out to get the optimum level. A standpipe is a great addition if you don't have an upper drain, and you can make one for probably $1.

The search function doesn't work on the site, which is pending a forum software upgrade, so you can use google to search the website.

http://www.classicmako.com/forum/top...TOPIC_ID=52507
    quote:

Originally posted by pub911

I just bought a 1885 Mako 238 cuddy with a '96 200hp Mercury outboard. We're doing some black fishing on Long Island Sound off of New Haven, CT. I have been a sailor for 20 years, so i know the waters and boating in general, but I'm new to this boat and new to outboard motor boating on saltwater.

Any suggested actions or reading for me, or just plain - '...hey don't make this mistake: ..."

Thank you!

1978 Mako 25 - Blind Hog
    1985 Mako 20c - sold
    Fort Walton Beach, FL