Newbie w/ 1984 228 Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie w/ 1984 228 Questions

I am new to Mako, but have been boating for over 50 years. Just purchased a 1984 Mako 228 that was a 1 owner, father & son, in the Keys. The boat spent it's life hanging on davits & has never been painted. That's what drew me to the boat. That + the hull looks so darn sexy even sitting still.

I haven't even unloaded the boat yet, but am wondering what would be some suggestions as to where to begin? It's somewhat overwhelming. The motor, I'm told, is '96/'97 (sticker destroyed) 200hp Evinrude that is NOT seized. Haven't done a compression check.

Where do I begin with this boat?
    1984 Mako 228 w/ 175hp E-Tec [br]1983 SeaRay 26\' Sundancer w/ 454 Big Block spinning Volvo DuoProps (Sold)[br]1989 Wahoo 17\' CC w/ 88hp Evinrude (vacationing in Key West)[br]

Welcome to CM and congratulations! Post up some pictures and it will be easier to see the condition. I'd start by checking out the fuel tank as it may be past it's useful life.
    1978 Mako 25 - Blind Hog
    1985 Mako 20c - sold
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    http://www.classicmako.com/forum/top...TOPIC_ID=42841

Comment

Thanks Sailor - Good idea, I'll try to get some pixs up.
      1984 Mako 228 w/ 175hp E-Tec [br]1983 SeaRay 26\' Sundancer w/ 454 Big Block spinning Volvo DuoProps (Sold)[br]1989 Wahoo 17\' CC w/ 88hp Evinrude (vacationing in Key West)[br]

Comment

Comment

Comment

Welcome. I agree with sailor, start with tank and fuel system components. And that's more like a '86-'87 motor.

Comment

Safety first! So that means check and replace fuel tank if necessary along with fill and vent lines, then redo all wiring. Most were done with copper wiring glass fuses and lots of splices. Then into bilge with two pumps with their independent hose and thru haul

Welcome to CM and good luck on the purchase