New guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy

Hi all...new guy here--not an owner yet, but am in the market! I decided to get me a Mako after some research...Think I made the right choice. I want a fishing boat that is seaworthy, since I will be entering/exiting Charlestown Breachway (RI) and the Connecticut River to the Sound. Plus, the seats in front of the console as well as the 2 console seats can comfortably fit my family for the occasional pleasure jaunt.

Considered a Boston Whaler, but decided against it since from what I've gathered, they're solid but make for a pretty jarring ride on the surf.

The toughest part so far is not jumping into something, given the giveaway prices for boats these days!

I know next to nothing about boats (though I'm a pretty good mechanic for a shade tree guy) so that is saving me from doing something stupid like buying the first thing I see.

I figure I'd sign up here and run my finds by you guys first for input. Lots of knowledgeable guys here I see just reading various posts, and I apologize in advance for the pestering, stupid questions coming your way.

I think I'll start with something 19-23 feet, big enough for open ocean but small enough to trailer.

Okay, looking forward to it.

Welcome to CM, what are you going to pull this boat with, I would suggest the 221, 224, or 231 off the top of my head, but there are many of fine models out there
    Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the government take care of him had better take a closer look at the American Indian. -Henry Ford[br]1988 Mako 261 \"Stroken\" Project Thread: http://classicmako.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=26203[br]1992 Mako221B project thread: http://classicmako.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=48747[br]1992 Mako 261B \"Reel Impressive\" project thread: http://www.classicmako.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=56286[br]

Comment

quote:

Originally posted by Stroken