Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Repowering - Engine Weight v. HP?

Newbie here!

I've got my eye on a couple '72-'73 Mako's, all 22-23'. I'm trying to factor in the cost to repower. I've read other posts saying to ignore the manufacturer's "Max HP" plate (230hp for '72 22' and 250hp for '72 23' https://www.makoboats.com/past-model...tBoatYear=1972 ).

It looks like engines have a seen some bloat over the years:

Yamaha 150hp = 395lb

Yamaha 200hp = 400lb

Yamaha 220hp = 405lb

Yamaha 115hp = 377lb

Yamaha 150hp = 478lb

Yamaha 200hp = 487lb

Yamaha 225hp = 505lb

Yamaha 250hp = 505lb

http://www.nadaguides.com/Boats/2016...utboard-Motors

My question for the group: what's more important to consider, the engine HP/thrust or the engine weight?

Put another way, should I assume a 1972 22' is still capable of 230hp (or less, given recalculation of HP), or should I assume it's only capable of an engine weighing about 400lb?

Thanks!

Just an assumption, but you are comparing 1984 2 strokes to 2016 4 strokes.

The 4 strokes are all heavier.
    1984 Mako 228 w/ 175hp E-Tec [br]1983 SeaRay 26\' Sundancer w/ 454 Big Block spinning Volvo DuoProps (Sold)[br]1989 Wahoo 17\' CC w/ 88hp Evinrude (vacationing in Key West)[br]

Comment

I'm not going to comment on whether to ignore the Max HP rating or not. However, I will say that many dealers, at least those in South Florida, will not sell you a 300HP engine to throw on the back of a boat rated for 250HP. They basically claim liability issues. This is despite the fact that a 300HP engine (typically the same block as a 250HP) weighs the same.

To give you a comparison... I own a 221B that is significantly heavier than the '72 Mako 22. The dry weight difference is 800 lbs. I also carry three times the fuel. On the 221B I had a 1992 Yamaha and later a 1999 Yamaha 225 HP, both two strokes. The boat cruised comfortably on plane at 3800 to 4200 RPM and hit 42 to 43 MPH at 5200 to 5300 RPM.