1978 21 Repower and Transom Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1978 21 Repower and Transom Project

Ive decided its finally time to repower my mako. I have a 1978 21 that my dad handed down to me when I graduated college in 2012. In 2007 we replaced the floor and gas tank. The project thread for that is http://classicmako.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=18501. The transom on the boat is still fairly solid but it is starting to develop some soft spots in it so I figure while I repower I will go ahead and replace the transom. Im debating on whether or not to rebuild the transom as it is or to build it up and put a bracket on it. If I build it up Id like to integrate about a 30 gallon livewell into it too because we removed the original in floor one when we replaced the floor. Now that I live in central Florida and do a lot of bottom fishing Im always using live bait. I currently have a bait tank I use but its annoying to have to change the water a couple times a day in it and it gets in the way in the front of the boat. I have concerns with this adding too much weight to the back end of the boat. Does anyone have experience with doing something similar on their 21? As far as the repower goes Im going with either a Suzuki 200 or 225. I like the idea of the extra hp but Im not sure if its worth the added weight. I currently have a 1996 Johnson 200 oceanrunner on it.
    David Clark[br]1978 211[br]Orlando, Fl

Sounds like a great idea to put the 30 gallon unit built into the transom

I wish I would thought of that I did my transom seven years ago

I have a 200 Ocean runner as well but swapped it out for a much newer etec although use i rebuilt it

I use 30 gal on the port side transom

I just changed out the intake pumps

But your idea of building that tank into the transom is fantastic
    Coleman D Brown[br]6554 Florida Boulevard[br]Suite 233[br]Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806

Comment

Im new to the forum but I have 21B 1983