Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Long Term Rebuild - Mako '79 19ft

1979 Mako 19ft Project Boat

Migrating my introductory thread to here as I will update it throughout my journey with water shots and repairs on my first boat. PLEASE provide tips and any related threads for my to-do lists, I am a newbie when it comes to boat repairs so I will need all of the help I can get.

Images of boat are below:

Last edited by Nogis; 05-13-2019, 10:21 AM.
    1979 19' Mako

Took a more detailed look at the boats condition; tank in particular. The gauge on the center console does not work, but I noticed there's a gauge inside the center console that I would assume leads directly to the tank. That appears to be in working condition as it has a reading of just under half a tank, which sounds about right.

Would anyone have a diagram or be able to explain how I could link up the gauge on the console to the sender/the gauge below the center console? Its not a pressing issue since I can just look below to check levels, but it's a nice-to-have.

Also, I checked the inspection port and the lines appear to be in okay condition.

Picked up a new gps/fish finder and will have to install the new system tomorrow. New transducer going in, it would be smart to use 5200 on the screws (bead inside hole and on threads), correct? Or would that make it hell to remove (not sure why I'd remove it ever, dropped a pretty penny on a nice combo).
    Last edited by Nogis; 05-13-2019, 10:22 AM.
    1979 19' Mako

Comment

<duplicated post>
      Last edited by Nogis; 05-13-2019, 10:22 AM.
      1979 19' Mako

Comment

Fuel gauge is usually a pink wire going to the gauge with ground and positive. Should wire up the same.

Comment

quote:

Nogis Posted - 07/20/2018 : 10:26:47

1979 Mako 19ft Project Boat

My to-do list is as follows:

Enjoy the boat for remainder of season with aesthetic work here and thereid="green">

Off-Season work; get tank done

Install trim tabs

Paint boat deck