Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

'81 Mako 213 new tank and wiring (updated pics)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '81 Mako 213 new tank and wiring (updated pics)

Hey been using this site a lot recently since I just got my first mako and decided to start a project thread. This is my first boat and Im just learning as I go, should know my boat inside and out by the end. Just excited to get started.

Here are some pics

[img]

[/img]

Dont worry I made chucks for the trailer

[img]

[/img]
    Stamford, CT[br]\'81 Mako 21[br]Project Thread: http://www.classicmako.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=59462[br]

My to do list looks like this:

1. Fuel tank replacement

2. Fuel line replacement

3. New electronics/rewire (steering, ignition and trim work fine)

4. Redesign center console

5. Bottom Paint

6. Deck Paint

7. Refinish the teak

8. Catch fish

I started the project around a week ago so I have made a lot of progress towards this list (removing the tank, fuel lines and old electronics). I am now working on buying all the new stuff to replace the junk I took out. The last guy to own this thing was not the brightest and didnt do the boat justice, painting the deck with multiple layers of Behr exterior probably wasnt the best idea. He did do a few things right though, t-top and leaning post are a good start. Also he never used the thing and put only 250 hours on the 2004 Yamaha 150. A week in and I am very optimistic about how this project is gonna turn out.

Pics of what I have done so far

[img]

[/img]

[img]

[/img]

Fuel tank finally out, what a b****

[img]

[/img]

[img]

[/img]

Took a lot of foam digging and a hole in the deck but finally got the fuel lines out too.

[img]

[/img]

[img]

[/img]

These are sections the original corroded fuel lines. The two 45 degree bends made them especially difficult to get out.

[img]

[/img]