Replacing Stringers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing Stringers

Hi everyone my name is Wyatt and I recently purchased a 1979 23 Mako. I am new to the form and have looked through a lot of projects on here and I am very impressed on some of the work I have seen. I have not done much fiberglass work before so this should be a good learning experience for me.

I have cut the top of the fiberglass off on one of the stringers and was able to remove the wood. I don't know how this will work for the rest of the stringers but it went surprisingly well on this one. My question is if I am able to remove the wood from the stringer in one piece could I cut new plywood, coat it with resin and put it into the existing fiberglass stringer then just glass over everything to seal it?

Also I would like to post some pictures but I am not sure how this.

I would think if you cut the top off and have the trough there, you could fill the stringer with a pour-able material like Sea-Cast. Why put wood back in there? Pretty easy to mix and self level.

As for the pictures, I posted some screen shots on this posting of the Jesse Lee http://www.classicmako.com/forum/top...TOPIC_ID=59311

Good luck
    1982 Whaler Montauk 90HP( sold)[br]1977 25 Mako CC 225HP

Comment

Thanks rustyolddad and I have thought about doing some type of composite material that you pour in. I just have not seen a lot of people do that. Plus I figured if that wood has lasted 40 years it should last me that long. But either way I'm still on the fence for which material I would like to use. If anyone has input on what would be a good material to go with, I am open to all suggestions. Thanks and here are a few pics of the one stringer I have been messing with.

Comment

Agreed either way is great, I just like self leveling compounds that are polymer based. There are some youtube links out their for pouring stringsers.

Glad the picture directions worked out for you!
        quote: