"84" 17' angler needs new gas tank

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "84" 17' angler needs new gas tank

I'm a First timer for this kind of work, I am pretty handy, my background is mostly carpentry. So I need your Help/advise.

C C is disconnected, Hatch is off,I took the gas soaked foam off the top of the tank, about a dozen tiny holes in the top and the hoses are shot. This weekend I will pull the tank hopefully.

Question, Is there a place I can buy a tank and the hoses in the north east? or will I have to suck it up and pay the shipping from FLA or Texas? Suggestions for a supplier, please.

Has anyone used a replacement poly tank? Is there a company that can make one?

Thanks in advance for any advise and info!

best,

Mark

I'd look for a fabricator in your area and see what it would cost to have a new tank built matching your old tank. I might be cheaper than having one shipped. You can use a pressure washer to blow the old foam out of the coffin area. IMO easier than chipping or cutting. I'd replace the fill tube as well.

Comment

Thanks for the insight Dogman, I am surprised that no one is making poly tanks for these boats because the aluminum tends to get pitted over time. I think I will replace all the wiring as well. throttle Controls and steering cable are in great shape. I hope to post some pix soon.

Comment

Tanks are coated with Coal-tar Epoxy to "prevent" corrosion. My original tank lasted about 30 years before it leaked. They were just zinc chromate painted. I think the ethanol additive was the start of the pitting problem. Now I use nonethanol fuel. More expensive, but no water absorbson,I hope.

Comment

got it, makes sense. I'll see how this rip out goes this weekend.

Can't wait

Comment

I got specs on a poly tank from Moeller. I'll post the diagram they sent me. It's the same size as my existing tank. but the fill configuration is a little different. I'm not sure if I'm going to use this one or not.

Comment