Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1981 Mako 21' - What have I gotten myself into?!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1981 Mako 21' - What have I gotten myself into?!?

Newbie here! Had been searching the forum for a few weeks and took the plunge today and purchased a 1981 21' bare hull. It came with a center console, leaning post and fuel tank, but I don't think any of them are keepers (or meant for the 21'). I've been digesting a ton of information; tips & how-to's from this forum, the hull truth and watching YT videos. There are so many things I'm looking at and a in turn a bunch of questions, but I'm going to try and keep it short and step by step.

Big Picture:
    T-Top, Console w cooler/bench, Close transom w live-well, Suzuki 175 on a platform, seating hatches on bow, etc.

Next steps:
    Remove barely tacked 2x6 framing and figure out stringer & deck layout.
    Research fuel tank size needed & get quotes

I see there are multiple ways/materials to use as stringers, so I'm curious as to what suggestions you might have. My initial hunch was to use coosa/kay-cell, but then I saw some that used foam instead. I plan to consult a couple of friends/experienced boat-builders before settling in on a plan, but wanted to see what the pros/cons of the various products are. The current stringers seem to be in decent shape but in order to rebuild the deck, I'm probably better off rebuilding them higher with multiple cross supports rather than a frame on top of the stringers like the previous owner had setup.

Also, any layouts/sketches or anything that I can use as a reference point to start drafting a digital model? I'm a highly visual person and having a 3D rendering of the boat will help immensely in my planning. It'll just be easier if I have a deck-plan/blueprint to start the digital rendering from.