Transoms repair help in nc?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transoms repair help in nc?

I am looking for some one to help with repairs or a cost for repair. I am thinking about buying a 1987 248 cc with a 250 hp yam hanging of a long bracket. Seems to have bowed the transom out a 1" or 2. I would love to either fix it with someone or a price on getting it done.i am located in Durham NC
    Last edited by Bumsride; 02-12-2021, 10:54 AM.

Ok I have looked at it a little closer. Did they make some of the transom with a slight bow? Starting to think just the motor bracket might be loose? I am new to boating so any help is appreciated
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Bumsride; 02-12-2021, 10:56 AM.

Comment

Based on that pic, the bolts are obviously loose. Question is why? you need to look inside and see if the bolts have pulled through the transom or if they are just loose, or potentially the bolts are corroded inside and need to be replaced. Either way, I wouldn't use the boat until you figure out why those bolts are loose.

Comment

That bracket is not appropriate for the boat, you need a full floatation bracket, that is not a factory install. Look down in the bilge and find the bolts for the bracket and see if they are being pulled onto the transom, like the transom is soft. Look all around the transom inside and out looking for cracks or delamination. If the transom is solid you may be able to get away with replacing that bracket with a full floatation bracket, guessing maybe 5K. If the transom is soft or wet it will be more than double that figure. Get a survey before you purchase.
        David, New Kent, Va[br]

[br]Project Thread: http://www.classicmako.com/forum/top...TOPIC_ID=21067[br]

Comment

Do you have pictures of a full floatation bracket? And how go about getting a survey?

Comment