Looking For Power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking For Power

[?] I am looking for a good used motor for a 19' Mako 1977. I am new to the saltwater enviroment does anybody have any sugestions? Like what size what kind?

Panama City Beach Fl
    Panama City Beach Fl

I'm assuming you've got the Model 19B that is referenced on the Mako website. Max HP for that hull is 150hp. If I recall, that hull did not have much deadrise, certainly
    Best bet for finding one is to find a couple of dealers that handle the brand you like, and let them know what you're looking for. With the new 4-strokes, people are trading in 2-strokes that are only a couple of years old.

Good Luck,

Prop Blast
    Prop Blast[br]Mako 224, F225[br]Tampa, FL

Comment

One final thing to consider. Spec's for that hull indicate it has a small, 32 gal fuel tank. You want to avoid a V6 engine...

Comment

Yes it is 19B. I basically came across a stripped down to nothing boat. It has a fuel tank a stripped out center console. Other than that everything else was stripped off. So I am looking to put it all back together I thought a good place to start would be the engine seeing how that going to be the most expensive part. But i have never dealt with the engine part before. Due you think a 115 would push it good and as soon as aquired the engine is it hard to mount it. Thanks for your help so far.

Timmy
        Panama City Beach Fl

Comment

115 to 140 would be ideal.

Comment

Im running an xp 150 on my 17 angler. The boat was rated for a 130 or 135 {i cant remember} in 1972. I had a 140 v4 on the boat and thought the performance sucked! I run 3800 rpms and cruise @38mph and I burn less fuel. I suck the fuel when I hammer it but I like the way a v6 idles. You dont have to use all your power but its nice to know you have it. If you power your boat by spec or in my case over power you are not working your motor as hard.

Comment

Timmy,