X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel Smell '93 Mako 211

http://classicmako.com/forum/topic.a...79&whichpage=1

http://classicmako.com/forum/topic.a...79&whichpage=2

Okay - I'm back. Have not had time to deal with my fuel tank problem since I am a CPA and am a little busy this time of year but I figured that since I am going to want to use the boat in a few weeks I better get my head out of my arse and get someone wotking on this. Dropped the boat off an hour ago with the rigger who is going to pull the tank. I will hopefully get some before, during and after pictures. He is thinking it will cost be around $2,000. $1,000 labor to him and around $1000 for the tank itself. This guy does the rigging for a new boat manufacturer so I am fairly confident he will do a good job. He did my buddies custom 36 CC and I saw his work and it was good.

I asked him about coal tar espoxying the tank and he said he has never used it before but he would look into it. He said he typicaly only uses a zinc primer - So what is the story with coal tar epoxy?

Tarponmandan

He'll want to sand the tank with 80 grit on the DA sander (or sand blast it if he has the equipment) and then wash it with a product like Aluma-Brite (aluminum cleaner/etchant). Then coat the tank with the zinc chromate primer and then put 2 coats of coal tar epoxy on the tank.

I am about to go throught he process on a tank for my father-in-laws boat. I haven't priced the coal tar epoxy yet, nor do I know how far the stuff goes. I'll post more as I learn more.
    Slidell, LA 1993 Mako 261B - Temperance

Comment

Eddie,

I saw that FGCI has the coal tar epoxy, but the catalog does not list a price. A quick call would probably do it.
      1975 23\' Tampa,FL

Comment