224 Not getting enough speed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 224 Not getting enough speed

I just recently purchased a 1983 224. I had to replace one piston when I got it. Motor seems to run fine, but my top speed is 36mph at 5300rpms. I get 20mph at 4000rpm. It seems to be running too hard for only 20mph. The boat has a 97' Johnson 225 on a rebuilt composite transom, with a 30" Armstrong bracket. 14.5 X 19 SS prop. I'd appreciate any advice.
    JC

If after checking your compression on each cylinder and is good, I would look at how low the motor is mounted as it may be to low. Then try a smaller prop if the above is good.
    [br]Mako 241[br]Winter Garden, FL

Comment

The new piston was 91#.

The remaining pistons were between 70 & 73#'s.
      JC

Comment

quote:

Originally posted by JC74

The new piston was 91#.

The remaining pistons were between 70 & 73#'s.

Im not a mechanic but I have heard many times they should be within 10% of each other. I'd guess the 70s pistons are running low.
        David, New Kent, Va[br]

[br]Project Thread: http://www.classicmako.com/forum/top...TOPIC_ID=21067[br]

Comment