Seal it up !!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seal it up !!

Hey Guys, I pulled the trigger on purchasing a slip for the 2018 season !

Im fairly new to owning a boat so I have a few questions about leaving my 1970 Classic 19 stting in the water as it typically lives on a trailer in my driveway haha !

I am excited to use it a bunch more this coming season as it is tuff to trailer it and get it in and out of the water every time I want to go fishing and or take the wife out.

What I am trying to find out and learn more about is what is necessary when leaving your boat in the water for 6 months ?

What should I be waxing ?

How often ?

What should I do with Motor when not in use ?

I re-wired the entire boat last season and I want to get everything sealed up good so what should I do to waterproof all the joints and places where water can cause damage (above and beyond the obvious) ?

Im feeling nervouse about this as I have never owned a boat to keep in the water......

Any help or input is greatly appreciated !
    1970 Mako 19

Is the boat self bailing? How many batteries and bilge pumps do you have? If you can check the boat daily that would give you peace of mind. As long as you have someone to keep an eye on your boat at marina you would be fine. Another option that would help is to have shorepower. Two batteries on a charger would give you back-up for your bilge pump(s).
    Keyman[br]Paoli, PA

Comment