Deciding on the best size 19,20,21,22

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deciding on the best size 19,20,21,22

Hello everyone I'm sorry if this seem very vague but I'm new to boating. Like it says I'm just looking to find the best fit or me and my needs. Fishing, Diving for lobster and hitting the sandbar. I want o be able to carry 2 including myself 3 max for fishing trips. and still be able to hit the sand bars with a few friends. I don't plan on going out shore unless its a calm day or little chop. This boat will mainly be used in palm beach county and the treasure coast. occasionally be taking it down to the keys or the west coast. my budget is 8-10K. That includes what ever repairs it will need after i buy it.

so far I'm leaning towards a 20c but wanted to look at the other hulls. Not much of a fan of the 21 because most I've seen have rear port and starbird boxes that are very close to leaning post that seam to crowd the stern. is this found on all 21?

which one these hulls rides the smoothest?

please give me your experiences with these hulls good or bad.

Also i have a toyota tundra so i have decent hauling power.

thanks

Forgot to mention I was looking into a seacraft 20 if anyone has any input on those

Thanks

Comment

Forgot to mention I was looking into a seacraft 20 if anyone has any input on those

Thanks

Comment

Every boat is a compromise. Figure what your priorities are then buy accordingly. shallow water, inshore, offshore,some of each.

Comment

The 20 is a great all around boat. Not a tremendous amount of storage area, but adequate. It has a modified vee so it's a little shallower draft, but doesn't handle rough water as well as the 21-22's. As you'd expect, the bigger boat would be more stable.

Growing up, we had a 20' and had no problem taking it 20-25 miles out in the Keys. Just pick your days.

As I recall, the SeaCraft doesn't have foam flotation. That's a big mark against in my book.