Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what can you tell me..?

newbie here

havent looked at it yet only seen these pics. guy doesnt know much about it. havent seen a hull number yet

can any tell me things like year range, 221? 224? or other?

what hp and shaft length you might know of to fit?

have owned a few i/o runabouts but never anything like this.

wonder if i get it cheap enough will i blow past the value by restoring it?

most everything i should be able to handle myself labor wise

thanks in advance

Jeremiah Guinn

I don't know to much about this model but I can tell you it's a Mako 22 from early to mid 1970's.

This would predate the 221 and 224.

Less deadrise then the later boats, probably around 12 degrees vs the 19 degrees of the 221/224.

About half the fuel capacity of the later models.

Looking at it current condition not worth much. If you get it back to running driving condition probably wont be worth any more then you put into it. Good chance you'll loss money if you sell.
    Long Island, New York

Comment

I would stay away unless you have about $15k and a couple of years to spare.
      1971 Angler 17[br]2000 Johnson 150[br]Miami, Fl

Comment

thanks the replies so far.

yes it does seem like a task. although i wasn't sure if a good snad and wax might really bring it back. that is something i guess to judge up close.

it can be bought for around $600 on the trailer so i know the money is at least there for the trailer.

this would be a river boat here in TN.

would anyone know if this boat had wood floors or fiberglass? or would it be wood coated in finberglass?

thanks guys for your expertise
        Jeremiah Guinn

Comment

to be clear, i'm not looking to repair and resell, i would enjoy the time and customization, to an extent

i just wouldn't want to be tied up with $15k in a $5k boat
          Jeremiah Guinn

Comment