prop size

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• prop size

I currently am getting only 5000 RPM with a light load, trimmed up, and at WOT. I have a two 19 pitch props now, but I am not sure what size they are. (The prop says 19 M on the hub) Would the diameter be written on the inside of the hub? I am looking to resize props to get around 5500 rpms maxed out and I am thinking and have been told to keep the 19 pitch and get a 1/4" smaller prop. Any thoughts on this? At 5000 rpms the max speed is around 47 mph.

I need to find out what size props I have in order to go smaller if that is the most logical explanation. I could go to a 17 pitch also I suppose.....this is my first time with re-propping, hence the reason for the somewhat basic questions.
    1984 MAKO 254[br]Hartsville, SC

Before you make any decission. The prop you have need's to be checked. Pull it off and take it by a local prop shop. They will stick their Pitch block's on it and then you will know what you have. Then the decission to get another prop can be made acuratly and not just guessing. Guessing cost's money.

The number's may very well be stamped on the prop you have, but whose to say that prop hasn't been reworked and no new number's stamped on it.

perhap's the same prop shop will work with you to try several diffrent prop's too.

Comment

Your speed sounds great, GPS?

Another item to check is your tach calibration, if it is off only a couple of hundred rpm, you could already be dialed in, and not need to re-prop. Tachs can vary, price, quality, analog & digital etc.

Example:

Our 88 231, last week: Yamaha 225 Excel, 1/2 fuel (80 gallons), 3 persons onboard, light chop, 5400 rpm max, (digital yamaha tach), 40 mph on gps, running two opposite courses. We recently had the prop rebushed and straightened, so we are going to leave it alone, happy to get what we have!

Randy
      1988 Mako 231[br]Jackson, MS

Comment