Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new guy / big problems

Hi all !

I am the latest new member...Nice site thanks for all the work on the build out. I hope I can contribute simething here eventually. Right now it looks like I am going to need a whole lot of advice .

My name is Ed Mehrman posting from Sarasota Florida. I have a 1978 angler 17 with a 1998 115 yamaha, the motor is fine...the boat .......well man where do I start .

The boat "Kelly Sue" has been previously owned by a guide or two that have worked her pretty hard.

I guess I have a project boat on my hands although it did not seem to start out that way.

I noticed the gas vent over flowing an a few fuelings and sent up an alarm.

I pulled the boat and noticed gas in the bilge....yikes !

Upon further inspection it looks like the gas tank has to come out with the console coming off as well........I am not an engineer !

HELP Do I try this myself? I need some advice...

Thanks,

Ed Fish 7

fishsiesta @yahoo.com
    78 Angler 17 / 98 Yamaha 115 Sarasota Florida.

Welcome aboard, glad you noticed the fuel in the bildge before it became a fire. There have been several 17 owners on record having to replace there tanks from those years as well as other size makos.

the salt does take its toll. Use the search feature and see what you can find on tank replacement. There are a few diferent paths you can take. It could also be your fill tubes rotted. (aluminum and rubber)

I bet one of our 17 experts will have lots of good ideas. hang on

dave.