Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1983 21B with a 250 EFI Yamaha. dos and donts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1983 21B with a 250 EFI Yamaha. dos and donts?

I have had my 21B for a few months it came with a Evinrude 235 84. Man that wasn't any fun pass anyhting but a gas station.

So I just bought a Yamaha 98 250 Efi. Is this to big for my transom.

Overall the transom condition is a 10. I am worryed about ruff seas etc. Any input? encouragment or dude your crazy will be greatly appreciated.Plus Do you think the fuel managment system is worth the money$$

THX

Rawsurf1
    [ ]

Raw,

I have no experience with the Yamy 250 EFI, but I can attest from identical experience's, that the 235 jonRude you are removing is indeed a thirsty puppy...

As for weight, the 250 Yamy will be fine, as it's within the rating of your hull, and within a few lb's of the JonRude 235... With ONE HUGE difference... a WHOLE lot more zip...

Perhaps someone else here has had experince with the Yamy to share?

Good Luck, OB1
    Working for a livin\' is HIGHLY Over-Rated...[][br]

Comment

I'm sure there is no difference in weight of the Tamaha 250 Vs. the Merc 225 EFI that I had on my Mako 21. I know a guy who bought the Mako that I originally was going to buy.. I put a Merc 250 on that Mako 211. He loves it. Runs 54+ mph, but very affinitive towards gas.

If the transom is compromised, it doesn't matter what you put on there... it'll be too much. But if the transom is in good condition, you'll be fine.
      Slidell, LA 1993 Mako 261B - Temperance

Comment

Doesn't that exceed your max horsepower rating? could cause trouble with your insurance co. or worse, the coast gaurd. ore is the 83 rated for more than the 80 model?
        1980 Mako21 [br] [br]Long Beach MS <\')))>([br]\"I can always find somebody to tow me back in, but I can never find anybody who will tow me out.........\"

Comment