Collapse
No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am a newbie to the board. My dad has the 254 mako with the fuel tank issues and I am a private captain for a lawyer who has a 1985 285 mako and I run a 26 foot glacier bay full time (plus I went to school with ringleaders wife) Happy to be in a classic mako place
    Slidell, La

Welcome aboard. Weren't you running a 282 for a while too? Hows the 285 do? What's good and what's bad about it? Wet ride, sloppy ride, slow as a snail? Give me the skinny. I've often thought about getting one of those and turning it into a fisharound or even an express type layout with a small tower.
    Slidell, LA 1993 Mako 261B - Temperance

Comment

Completely forgot about the 282. I ran that as a charterboat for a couple months. I guess I have run a lot of makos. The 282 is sweet. The one I run has the center console design instead of side console. IT is very stable and pretty dry and has a good ride for a monohull. We cruise about 30 knots with twin 225 yamaha 2 strokes. Burn around 180-200 gallons of fuel on overnight trips to Mars and back. The biggest complaint is the complete and utter lack of useable fishbox space. I can only put four 50 pound class yellowfin in the boat. We are working on a custom fishbox for the boat now. I like it better then the 282 mako in general although I did like the 282 it was a pretty quick boat and had a nice ride although it was wetter and also suffered from a lack of fishbox space. If mako ever learned their customers actually wanted to bring fish home with them it would certainly help their sales.
      Slidell, La

Comment