1981 mako

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1981 mako

i am very interested in purchasing a 1981 25 foot mako cc. the boat is in excellent shape, but the engines are origional 150's johnson's. should i be weary about the engines? or do they hold up well. also how much life do they have left in them. again the boat is in excellent shape....so should, assuming the engines were maintained the same way, they be in good mechanical shape as well.................also the owner is asking 9,900 or best offer. how much should i offer him?

if any one can help i would greatly appreciate it.

thanks,

-stephen

let us know where you are. also could you post pctures?

value of motors would have to be marginal. you are

basically buying the hull.
    91 17 standard[br]mt pleasant sc[br]115 yamaha[br]got mako?[br]

Comment

The motor's that old have no value. As to what to offer? I'm not good at that.

I bet it's due for a fuel tank or 2 also.

Comment

the boat is in baltimore maryland..........also when run the engines performed great, however , for that age are there many more years left in them?

Comment

the owner is asking 9,900 there is no trailer, but boat is in excellent shape ( very well taken care of)

Comment

I have no clue about values... shopping by comparison is about all I know how to do. Then there's the numbers NADA puts on boats. The 25' 1981 is put right around 3k by Nada. If the engines run great now and you get a little more out of them, that's great. But the question I'd ask myself is what will it cost me to replace them - whether with older or newer used power - and can I afford it when that becomes necessary? I think with motors of that age, the beauty is in using them as long as you can because, like Warthog said, they have about no resale value.

If you are not interested in buying a boat to restore, it might be a good idea to shell out the bucks (is it $300-$400?) for a full survey for soundness of the rig - especially the hull.