Question for 232 owners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for 232 owners

I'm just beginning to use my "new to me" 1995 Mako 232. It has a 2000 Yami 225 mounted on a bracket. This is my first, bracket mounted motor, so I'm not sure how this set-up should perform. The boat rides great, however, when I come off of plane I sometimes get back wash on the motor. It never quite goes over the motor but it has caused me to get water on the interior of the motor cover. It did not flood the engine, however, did cause a lot of sputtering until I got back to the dock. Is this just a characteristic of a bracket or do I have other problems? The boat seems to float level while at rest. Any body have any ideas?
    1995 Mako 232, 1988 MAKO 171, New Bern, North Carolina

It's a common thing for the water to wash up the backside of the motor. It is not common for water to get inside of the cowl.

Just an FYI.

When backing a bracketed boat. Trim the motor up a little to make the prop wash go under the boat.

Comment

Warts correct..water should not entrude the cowling..maybe a little build up after a while..i use corrosion-x and wash it with soapy water every now and then..A doel-fin will all but stop that backwash over cowling as well as a smaller prop.come off plane slower and it really helps..A sharp turn coming off plane in either direction knocks the plume down..but if engine is drowning thats problem..[:0]also make sure your trimmed all the way down engine wise..Ive got the same boat..
      1997 232B 2017 suzuki 250 \"ROCK BOTTOM\"[br] [br]

Comment

Capt. Andy, What is a doel-fin? I hate to change the prop. It seems well mated for the boat and motor. I'm getting about 5700 RPM's at WOT. After reading other posts on the subject (prop sizing) that seams pretty optimal.

Comment