outboard question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• outboard question

I am a relatively new owner of a mako 17 with a 88hp johnson outboard on it. Recently the waterflow coming out of the "pee hole" has reduced to a trickle. I don't know much about outboards or even boats being my first boat and all. I do know that the water circulation is used for cooling and I might be in for a major problem. The circulation increases with the throttle but still is not what it used to be. Could something be clogged in the system. I am a mechanic by trade, but jet engines are much different than old outboards. I would greatly appreciate any info, input or suggestions that come my way.
    panama city, Fl[br]1978 mako 17

I'm not sure what maintenance you have done in the past, but I would replace the impeller and thermostat(s) for starters. It could also be a blockage in the hose leading to the "pee hole" you may want to pull the hose and take a look.

That's where I would start.

David M
    Current Mqko - 1990 Mako 211 w/2006 250 E-TEC. http://www.classicmako.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=6226. [br]- Previous Makos 1987 20C, 1979 23\' IB, 1970s 17 Angler

Comment

Good advise,dtmackey, You should get a hold of a service manual, I think you might even find one at the library. dave
      [br]1994 Mako 215 Dual console Optimax 225[br]1978 Mako 19 with 90hp johnson[br]1996 Mako 22[br]1982 Mako 171 Angler 135 Black Max Mercury[br]1987 21b 225 Yamaha[br]1974 23 inboard Gusto gone.[br]1979m21 225johnson \"blue dolphin\" bought off this board and restored [br]with everyone\'s help!!Gone but not Forgotten....[br]1979 20 Mako 115 Suzuki gone[br]1977 19 Mako 115 Johnson gone[br]1976 23 Mako twin 140 Johnsons gone[br]1983 224 with closed transom and bracket[br]And 162 SOB (some other boats)[br]Venice Florida, Traverse city Mi.

Comment