Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mako 252: which propellers ?

Dear friends,

I recently purchased a 2000 Mako 252 with twin Evinrude 175 ficht in perfect conditions (It was a very good deal!) and I am sure that the propellers selected by the previous owner are not right.

It mounts a couple of 4 blades SS Renegade 14.5x19" and here follows the behaviour of the boat.

With calm water at full trottle the engines reach 5000rpm instead of 5400-5600 as it should be. Maximal speed is around 39knots.

With rought water I am obliged to tilt down very much the engines otherwise I have cavitation problems. Cruising with engines tilted down makes the bow too heavy.

Generally my feeling is that the pitch is too long and that the bow is too "heavy".

I have no experience with 4 blades propellers therefore I don't know the difference in performance against 3 blades.

It would be great to have the opinion of someone with more experience or eventually with the same boat to start testing a new pair of propellers according to his suggestion.

Regards,

Paolo (Rome, ITALY)
    2000 Mako 252, twin 175 ficht + 15 4 strokes kicker - Rome ITALY

come on...

No answers?

Please squize your brains I need your help!

Comment

I would see if you could borrow a set of 14.25 x 19 x 3 blades to get the RPM up. If those get you into the +/-5500rpm range, try those for a while. My 25'er had twin 175hp 1999 Johnsons before the 200hp Rudes and 15x21x3 was the best for me then. IMO 4 bladed props are for real heavy boats with "recommended" mid range power. They help on whole shot and keeping on plane with less stress on the foot, especially with a heavy load.
      Artie Sutherland[br]Rude Attitude -\'76 Mako 25 CC. - SOLD[br]1976 Mako 21[br]2002 Yellowfin 31 - 300 hp Suzukis[br]Gulf Coast, Mississippi[br]

Comment

Thank you for your prompt reply!

I will try with 3 blades and same pitch.