Building bulkeds and tank coffins

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building bulkeds and tank coffins

Well my first attempt to build a bulked and tank coffin for a 17 standard are about to begin.I have no known knowledge of glass work other than repairing my surfboards.The bilge setup would be involved aswell.Cleared all the fuel soaked foam(TIME BOMB) on both sides of the center stinger.Cut the existing tub out of the cap,noticed there was nothing to block water from entering the forward part of the hull between the stringers from the drain plug.Didn't like that idea so I wanted to build a bulked to allow the bilge float to turn the pump on before the whole hull was flooded.

Question # 1.Should a bulked be built in a 17 standard,So the drain hole water cannot reach the forward portion of the hull?

Question # 2.What is the right way to go about this?

Question # 3.What is the best material combonation for this application ?(oz glass,type resin,Marine ply,how many layers,etc.......?? and materials to seal and paint the bilge?

Quetion # 4. the best location in terms of distance from aft ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated and welcomed,If only to respond to a portion of any question.

Thanks a million!

VBMAKO17
    1980 Mako17 Standard, 115 Yamaha 2 stroke[br]1981 Mako224 200 johnson 2 stroke Virginia Beach,Va

1. You must allow drainage from the forward bilge this can be done by putting a 1" pvc tubing through the lower apex of the bulkheads fore and aft of the tank pod, allowing the water to pass through without soaking your tank foaming.

3. I would advise GP polyester resin with alternating layers of mat and roving. You could use marine ply or higher tech (lighter) cores for the bulkheads. If you do go with another type of coring such as PVC foam, why not use 1708 biaxial. Gelcoat for final coating. (note: all of these boats are built with GP polyester resin-why would you want to introduce epoxy into the matrix- you really don't)