new here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new here

hey guys i am new to the mako world. i just purchased a 22 foot 1973 mako with a 185 evinrude. i was just wondering the total weight of the boat engine and aluminum trailer. i had a friend pull the boat over to my house with a ford 250. i myself have a ranger with a v-6 4.0 engine extended cab. can that truck handle pulling that boat?
    Dan 1973 22 Mako Port St Lucie Fl

You can find your boat specs on the Mako web site. mako-boats.com And you should be able to find your engine's weight on NADA web site.
    01\' Mako BayShark 2100[br]200 Optimax[br]Lakeland Fl.

Comment

without knowing the weight of the boat engine & trailer etc. I would still think your truck would do OK on short trips but that's all I'd do. 22's a heavy sumbitch and you don't want to be towing that without trailer breaks. Just my 2cents. Be careful. This is why for those of us out there in between towing vehicles should keep a Anchor Biatch with a 3/4 ton pickup handy.[] Good luck with the new boat.

SB
      Tim[br]1981 19 (project)[br]prior 1978 17 angler (sold)[br]

Comment

my old chevy s-10 4 cyl pulled my 22 Mako about 43 miles the day I bought it. Not recommended. AT ALL. Sure, it pulled it, but never left 3rd gear. When It got home I felt like the Pilgrims finding Plymouth Rock.

Boat is about 1800lbs, engine 450, trailer 1100 or so..51 gallon fuel tank, gas weighs about 6 lbs./gallon, wet foam below deck adds about 1380 lbs., wet stringers and transom about 650 more,...

I tow mine NOW on my Ford E-150 van..no problem at all, except you're towing a boat, what about those McDonald's drive thrus??????

Flush your tranny every 30k miles MINIMUM. Pay the $150 to prevent the $2850. 3k between engine oil changes MAX. Use synthetic engine oil. 1 can of "B-G 44K" every 7500 miles. Towing a boat a mile or so each way is not the issue...50 + miles..compounds problems - big - time, same as going offshore.

Mark