Mako 171 T-top?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mako 171 T-top?

I'm a newbie member to the group, and newbie owner of a Mako 171 standard, (w/115 Yamaha). Was wondering about a T-top for the boat. Think a 171 is too small for a T-top? (unstable, etc.) Thanks for any input. For a life long sailor-coverted....these are great boats. Thanks. Kevin Hansz. [email protected]

Hi Kevin,

Beleive me I have thought about it for a long time and have come to the conclusion that a 17 is too small. My consol is 24" wide and even at that it would take up too much floor space. I think your best bet is a folding bimini top. Gary

Comment

Kevin,

If you want to see what a t-top would look like on a 17 Mako there is one on boattrader. It has a beautiful top on it. However, I am with Gary, it would take up too much room.

Cliff
      Columbus, Georgia[br]1973 Mako 17 angler \"Reel\'s Angler\"

Comment

Kevin,

To each his own. If you want a top, then get a top. I put a modular top on my 17 Classic that I bought from Shoreway Marine in New Jersey for about $500. The only obstacle that it created was that I could not longer use the consul mounted rod holders for rods longer then 5.5 feet. I compensated by adding more around the boat and to the trailing edge of the top. This particular top did have stability issues when operating in nasty rough conditions (I did not have all of the stabilizer cables installed), but it was wonderful on those nice hot sunny summer days.

You can have a custom top made to any size that you want if the standard top is too large for your liking..
        Chris Miller[br]Mystic Islands, NJ[br]1974 17 Classic[br]1988 211 Classic (sold)[br]1990 Grady White 230 Gulfstream (sold)[br][img][br]

Comment