fair price?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fair price?

Looked at a 1981 20' with a 200hp power. Boat is in decent shape, hasnt been in the water in 2 years. Needs a bit of work here and there, but nothing more than cosmetics on the hull. The motor is a bit of a mistery - supposedly its a merc 200, it certainly looks like one (but im no expert). Anyhow, the seller is asking $9500 which seems fairly high. Boat comes with a trailer that is in decent shape. Any thoughts on this - anything to look out for in particular? Boat is in Maine -

thanks for any help-

How old is the engine? A boat this old is really valued based on the strength/age of the engine.
    Tom[br]Pompano Beach, Florida[br]1976 25\' Mako[br]

Comment

its a 'repowered' boat, motor is a 1986 - motor looks clean. perhaps i need to know what exactly he means by re-powered, as its 18 years old.

Comment

grover,

You need to look at the entire package to see if it meets your needs. What the owner means by "repowered" is that the original engine has been replaced with the '86. A motor that old has absolutely NO VALUE -- salvage value only, maybe $200.

You are really buying the hull and trailer, so you need to decide if it's worth it. I would certainly get the motor checked out by a certified mechanic you trust.

It does seem like a lot of green to me -- but used Makos in the NE are not too common.

Good Luck,

Prop Blast
        Prop Blast[br]Mako 224, F225[br]Tampa, FL

Comment

I agree with PropBlast. The hull and trailer seem to be fairly valued. If you get one season out of the engine it has paid for itself. Good luck.
          Rooster[br]1977 25CC[br]New Orleans, La[br][br]

Comment

seems logical to me - thanks

ag

Comment